Login to your Account

Username *
Password *

A History of Great Playwrights

This five part series, A History of Great Playwrights, hosted by William Ambrose, founder of Ambrose Video Publishing, Inc., focuses on the rich literary tradition of the theater - its plays and playwrights, including such greats as Sophocles, Terence, William Shakespeare, Moliere, Henrik Ibsen, Eugene O\'Neill, Bertolt Brecht, and Tom Stoppard.
Return to Title Details
  • If you are renewing an active Streaming License for a Title, that License will be extended by the purchased Term.
  • Videos may be streamed immediately upon payment. Purchase Orders must be confirmed before viewing is available.
  • DVD Products(if available) do not include individual Programs, or access to supplemental files.
  • If visible, the icons and indicate that you already have license rights to this item. Hover your mouse over the icon for details
Full Title (includes all individual Programs)
Streaming License includes all individual programs listed below, as well as downloadable supplemental files.
HGP $125.00/yr
Individual ProgramsSKUTermPrice
Program 1: Antiquity to the Renaissance
  • 456 BC - Sophocles and the Greek Playwrights
  • 191 BC - Titus Maccius Plautus and the Roman Theater
  • 1587 - Christopher Marlowe Writes Tamburlaine the Great
  • 1594 - Shakespeare Pens Romeo and Juliet
HGP-001 $25.00/yr
Program 2: The Theater Responds to Industrialization
  • 1598 - Ben Jonson Establishes a New Kind of Comedy
  • 1662 - Moliere's The School for Wives Premieres in Paris
  • 1867 - Henrik Ibsen Revitalizes the Theater with Peer Gynt
  • 1888 - August Strindberg, Father of Naturalistic Drama
  • 1895 - Oscar Wilde's Masterpiece, The Importance of Being Earnest
HGP-002 $25.00/yr
Program 3: The Theater Turns Inward
  • 1897 - Edmond Rostand Writes Cyrano de Bergerac
  • 1904 - Anton Chekhov's Last Play, The Cherry Orchard, Premieres in Moscow
  • 1913 - George Bernard Shaw's Pygmalion
  • 1920 - John Galsworthy's The Skin Game is Performed
  • 1920 - Eugene O'Neill Wins First Pulitzer Prize
  • 1923 - Sean O'Casey Begins the Dublin Trilogy
HGP-003 $25.00/yr
Program 4: The Theater Responds to Modernism
  • 1928 - Brecht's The Threepenny Opera is Performed
  • 1937 - Thornton Wilder Writes Our Town
  • 1948 - Tennessee Williams Wins His First Pulitzer Prize for A Streetcar Named Desire
  • 1949 - Arthur Miller Produces Death of a Salesman
  • 1949 - The Musical Comes of Age
HGP-004 $25.00/yr
Program 5: The Great Resurgence of the Theater
  • 1953 - Samuel Beckett's Waiting for Godot Premieres
  • 1954 - Brendan Behan's The Quare Fellow Premieres in Dublin
  • 1959 - Eugene Ionesco's 'Theater of the Absurd'
  • 1962 - Edward Franklin Albee Writes Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
  • 1987 - August Wilson Wins a Pulitzer and a Tony for Fences
  • 2005 - Harold Pinter Wins the Nobel Prize
  • 2008 - The New Wave in Theater
HGP-005 $25.00/yr